Clubs


CLUBS AT SOMERSET MIDDLE SCHOOL

Art club 

Advisor: Mr. Roster, Room 62

jroster@sylvan.k12.ca.us 

The purpose is to meet with other people who enjoy art and to have fun.  Our goal is to do a service project to help beautify the school. 

Activities vary.  Students come up with art lessons and teach them to other students. Lessons range from origami, paper mache, drawing, painting, clay, etc…

Membership criteria:  Must have had at least one art class and be able to work well with others. 

Meetings:  2-3 times a month on Thursdays


Technology Club (a.k.a. Computer Club) est. 1992

Advisor:  Mr. Gagaza, Room 63

agagaza@sylvan.k12.ca.us 

Focus of Club:  Computer minded individuals share their interests in the use of computers for education and other activities.  Club members are allowed to go online and play games with direct supervision from club officers and the adult advisor.  Club is also a place where students can make up computer work from other classes.

Membership criteria:  Any 6th, 7th or 8th grade student enrolled at Somerset who is not on the ineligibility list.  In order for a student to be an active member, they must have a current Electronic Use Form (EUF) on file in the computer lab. Without an EUF on file, students can still use the computer but cannot go on the internet.

Club meets:  Every Tuesday, except the first Tuesday of each month, from 3:00 to 4:00


CJSF-California Scholarship Federation


Advisors: Mr. Bola and Mrs. Baker

Mr. Bola: sbola@sylvan.k12.ca.us

Mrs. Baker: mbaker@sylvan.k12.ca.us

Purpose:  To recognize academic achievement.  Students also complete a community service project each trimester.

Membership criteria:  GPA point system based on core subject grades.   There is a $5 membership fee, community service component, and an application form.

CJSF meets 1-2 times per month.


Yoga Club

Image result for yoga

Advisor: Ms. Gierhan

tgierhan@sylvan.k12.ca.us 

Meets on Wednesdays at 2:45 in Room 67


Code X  

Image result for code x

Advisor: Mr. Harlan-Gran

sharlan-gran@sylvan.k12.ca.us

Meets in Room 36


Science Olympiad

Image result for science olympiad


Advisor:  Mr. Harlan-Gran

sharlan-gran@sylvan.k12.ca.us

Begins Trimester 2

Meets in Room 36


Wood Shop Club

Image result for wood shop crafts

Advisor: Mr. Jaso

ajaso@sylvan.k12.ca.us

Meets on Wednesdays in Room 66 at 3:00


Honors Club

Image result for honors

Advisor: Ms. Argain

dargain@sylvan.k12.ca.us

Meets Thursdays at 3:00 in room 82


Minecraft

Image result for mine craft

Advisor: Mr. Harlan-Gran

sharlan-gran@sylvan.k12.ca.us

Meets in Room 36 at 3:00


Dude Perfect

Image result for dude perfect

Advisor: Jacob Giffen

jgiffen@sylvan.k12.ca.us

Meets Wednesdays in Room 44 at 2:45


Cool 2B Kind

Image result for cool 2bkind

Advisor: Mrs. Ramirez

rramirez@sylvan.k12.ca.us

Meets Tuesdays in Room 30 at 2:50



Comments