Clubs

CLUBS AT SOMERSET MIDDLE SCHOOL


Art club

Advisor: Mr. Roster, Room 62

jroster@sylvan.k12.ca.us

The purpose is to meet with other people who enjoy art and to have fun. Our goal is to do a service project to help beautify the school.

Activities vary. Students come up with art lessons and teach them to other students. Lessons range from origami, paper mache, drawing, painting, clay, etc…

Membership criteria: Must have had at least one art class and be able to work well with others.

Meetings: 2-3 times a month at 2:45pm on Thursdays


Technology Club (a.k.a. Computer Club) est. 1992

Advisor: Ms. Dennis, Room 63

odennis@sylvan.k12.ca.us

Focus of Club: Computer minded individuals share their interests in the use of computers for education and other activities. Club members are allowed to go online and play games with direct supervision from club officers and the adult advisor. Club is also a place where students can make up computer work from other classes.

Membership criteria: Any 6th, 7th or 8th grade student enrolled at Somerset who is not on the ineligibility list. In order for a student to be an active member, they must have a current Electronic Use Form (EUF) on file in the computer lab. Without an EUF on file, students can still use the computer but cannot go on the internet.

Club meets: Every Tuesday, except the first Tuesday of each month, from 3:00 to 4:00



CJSF-California Scholarship Federation

Advisors: Mr. Bola and Mr. Leguria

Mr. Bola: sbola@sylvan.k12.ca.us

Mr. Leguria: fleguria@sylvan.k12.ca.us

Purpose: To recognize academic achievement. Students also complete a community service project each trimester.

Membership criteria: GPA point system based on core subject grades. There is a $5 membership fee, community service component, and an application form.

CJSF meets 1-2 times per month.

Image result for wood shop crafts


Wood Shop Club

Advisor: Mr. Jaso

ajaso@sylvan.k12.ca.us

Meets on Tuesday in Room 66 at 3:00

Math Superbowl

Advisor: Mr. Giffen

jgiffen@sylvan.k12.ca.us

Meets in Room 44

Wednesday during 5th period lunch



Coding Club

Advisor: Mr Giffen

jgiffen@sylvan.k12.ca.us

Meets in room 44

Tuesdays during 5th period lunch



Strategy Games

Advisor: Mr Ruiz

cruiz@sylvan.k12.ca.us

Meets in Room 36, Tuesday at 2:45pm

Golf Club

Advisor: Mr Leguria

fleguria@sylvan.k12.ca.us

Meets in room 52 on Thursdays at 2:45pm


Animation Club

Advisor: Mr. Roster

jroster@sylvan.k12.ca.us

Meets in Room 62 Tuesdays at 2:45pm




Ninja Fitness

Advisor: Mr. Himes

chimes@sylvan.k12.ca.us

The purpose of this club is to further enhance the knowledge and application of personal health and fitness. It will allow students to access fitness equipment and learn about proper nutrition Students will have a safe place to exercise and learn more about healthy self-care.

Room 52 at 2:45pm on Thursdays